Verizon G1100 with TV setup

Although I build and repair PC’s I am not good with internet. My wife works from home and if I screw up my internet I’m in trouble. Just got the Eero 6 Pro. Can anyone advise step by step how to set it up. I also have Verizon TV. Do I leave my Verizon modem/router broadcasting WiFi or would I turn it off? Any step by step install would be appreciated. Everything is still in box. Thank you

13 replies

• kindz
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

I have a similar setup - Verizon (now Frontier) G1100, and a single Eero 6 (not pro).

Steps I followed, with relative success:

1. Rename existing WiFi SSIDs (through G1100) to something else (e.g. "MyWiFi old")
    2. Open Eero box and follow their "frustration free" steps
    3. Name the new WiFi SSID (through Eero) to what it was on the old router, use the same passphrase

This worked for me as all of my WiFi and wired devices (WiZ lights, Wyze cameras, Nest thermostat, phones, computers, etc.) connected successfully to the new network.

Once you confirm all of your devices are connecting to the new Eero WiFi and working well - check if there are any active devices on the G1100, reconnect them to the new WiFi, and then you should be able to take G1100 offline and keep it as a backup.

• Jackietools
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

Thanks. What about setting Verizon router to bridge mode and double NAT as they say in instructions? You also have Verizon TV? I appreciate your advice and thank you for your patience but I’m still not clear. The eero app should guide be thru setup without me having to bridge the router or change to NAT myself?

• kindz
      • 3 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

Jackietools don't have Verizon TV - so you're right, my steps may not apply to you.